ResearchIndependent analysis · Our policy

Client onboarding software pricing benchmarks 2026

Vlad Kuzin••12 min read
Stat card: median entry price $29 per month across 13 client onboarding tools, October 2026

The median entry price is $29 per month across 13 tools that publish a US-dollar subscription price. Each price was read from the vendor's own pricing page in October 2026. The middle half of them start between $19 and $50 per month. Four of 15 charge per user, and only one shows a $0 plan. On the six tools that show both terms, paying month to month costs a median 30% more than annual billing.

How to cite this. "The median entry price for client onboarding software is $29 per month (Portico pricing index, October 2026)." Link to this page. The dataset is free to reuse under CC BY 4.0.

The numbers

Every figure below comes from the vendors' own pricing pages, opened in a browser and saved as full-page screenshots. Each table row links its screenshot.

  • Entry price, median: $29 per month (13 tools, cheapest paid plan on its cheapest billing term).
  • Entry price, middle half: $19 to $50 per month.
  • Lowest and highest entry price: $9 (Bonsai Basic) and $825 (FileInvite Standard).
  • Seat model: four per user, five flat, five priced by clients or volume, one per use (of 15 with prices).
  • A $0 plan on the pricing page: one of 15 (Assembly).
  • Monthly billing premium: median 30% over annual on the entry plan, 20% to 69% (six tools showing both terms).
  • Annual price shown first: nine of 12 pricing pages open on the annual-billed price.
  • No public prices: Moxo.

The entry price is the cheapest paid plan on the cheapest billing term the page shows, for one user. Two entry plans carry limits: Financial Cents Solo is for single-user firms, and Ignition Solo is for firms under $150k in revenue.

Per-user pricing multiplies with headcount. Canopy, Karbon, Financial Cents and Bonsai charge per user. The other 11 do not price by the person: they charge per account, by volume or per use.

Prices by tool

Prices are US dollars per month unless a cell says otherwise. "Not shown" means the page did not display that billing term when it was captured. It does not mean the term is unavailable.

ToolPlanBilled monthlyBilled annually, per monthSeatsCaptured (screenshot)
HoneyBookStarterNot shown$29FlatOct 26, 2026
HoneyBookEssentialsNot shown$49FlatOct 26, 2026
HoneyBookPremiumNot shown$109FlatOct 26, 2026
DubsadoStarter$35$27.92 ($335 per year)FlatOct 26, 2026
DubsadoPremier$55$43.75 ($525 per year)FlatOct 26, 2026
ClustdocPRO€190 (term not stated)Not shownBy volumeOct 26, 2026
ClustdocEXPERTOn quoteOn quoteBy volumeOct 26, 2026
ClustdocULTIMATEOn quoteOn quoteBy volumeOct 26, 2026
Content SnareBasicNot shown$35By volumeOct 26, 2026
Content SnarePlusNot shown$71By volumeOct 26, 2026
Content SnareProNot shown$119By volumeOct 26, 2026
Content SnareCustomNot shown$215 and upBy volumeOct 26, 2026
SuiteDashStart$19Not shownFlatOct 26, 2026
SuiteDashThrive$49Not shownFlatOct 26, 2026
SuiteDashPinnacle$99Not shownFlatOct 26, 2026
MoxoNo public pricesNot shownNot shownNot shownOct 26, 2026
AssemblyFree$0$0By volumeOct 26, 2026
AssemblyStarter$49$29By volumeOct 26, 2026
AssemblyProfessionalNot shown$99By volumeOct 26, 2026
AssemblyAdvancedNot shown$499By volumeOct 26, 2026
AssemblyEnterpriseFrom $2,000Not shownBy volumeOct 26, 2026
CanopyStandardNot shown$74Per userOct 26, 2026
CanopyPlusNot shown$109Per userOct 26, 2026
CanopyPremiumNot shown$149Per userOct 26, 2026
KarbonTeam$79$59Per userOct 26, 2026
KarbonBusiness$99$89Per userOct 26, 2026
Financial CentsSoloNot shown$19Per userOct 26, 2026
Financial CentsTeamNot shown$49Per userOct 26, 2026
Financial CentsScaleNot shown$69Per userOct 26, 2026
IgnitionSolo$49$39By volumeOct 26, 2026
IgnitionCoreNot shown$99By volumeOct 26, 2026
IgnitionProNot shown$229By volumeOct 26, 2026
IgnitionPro+Not shown$399By volumeOct 26, 2026
BonsaiBasic$15$9Per userOct 26, 2026
BonsaiEssentials$25$19Per userOct 26, 2026
BonsaiPremium$39$29Per userOct 26, 2026
BonsaiElite$59$49Per userOct 26, 2026
MoxieStarter$12 (term not stated)Not shownFlatOct 26, 2026
MoxiePro$25 (term not stated)Not shownFlatOct 26, 2026
MoxieTeams$40 (term not stated)Not shownFlatOct 26, 2026
FileInviteStandardNot shown$825 ($9,900 per year) and upBy volumeOct 26, 2026
OnboardMapPay as you go$12 per onboardingNo subscriptionPer useOct 30, 2026
17hatsAll features$60$50 ($600 per year)FlatOct 26, 2026
TaxDome (not in the statistics)EssentialsNot shown$800 per user per yearPer userManual capture pending (last reading Jul 16, 2026)
TaxDome (not in the statistics)ProNot shown$1,000 per user per yearPer userManual capture pending (last reading Jul 16, 2026)
TaxDome (not in the statistics)BusinessNot shown$1,200 per user per yearPer userManual capture pending (last reading Jul 16, 2026)
Portico (ours, not in the statistics)Free, Starter, Pro, Business$0, $39, $79, $149$0, $29, $59, $119FlatOct 26, 2026

Notes by tool

  • HoneyBook. Team members by tier: Essentials up to 2, Premium unlimited. The captured page carried a "Fall savings! Get special prices on annual plans." banner, so the annual prices may be promotional. Monthly prices were not shown in the default state.
  • Dubsado. 3 additional users free; 4 to 10 users $25/mo extra. The page says "Start for free" but lists no $0 plan.
  • Clustdoc. PRO: 3 user seats and 50 new applications per month. The page defaulted to euros and does not state the billing term. The dollar view was not captured, so Clustdoc is outside the US-dollar statistics. EXPERT and ULTIMATE are "On quote".
  • Content Snare. Users and active requests set the tier: 2, 5, 10, 20 or more users. Monthly prices were not shown in the default state.
  • SuiteDash. Unlimited clients and staff on every plan. Yearly and "Century" prices were not shown in the default state.
  • Moxo. The pricing URL redirects to the homepage, which shows no prices (checked October 26 and 30, 2026).
  • Assembly. Active contacts set the tier; internal users included: 1, 1, 3, 5, unlimited. Formerly Copilot. Plan prices render as animated digits, so Professional, Advanced and Enterprise were read from the screenshot. Monthly prices other than Starter's were not shown.
  • TaxDome. Essentials is solo-user only. TaxDome's page answered the capture script with HTTP 403 on October 26, 2026, and the index never works around bot walls. Vlad Kuzin captures it by hand. Until then the row shows the last dated reading, July 16, 2026, at the 1-year rate (2-year and 3-year terms cost less). It is excluded from the statistics until a current capture exists.
  • Canopy. The page offers monthly billing ("annual billing saves you 20%") but showed annual prices by default. Enterprise is custom.
  • Karbon. Per user; monthly billing only for teams of 4 or more. Enterprise is custom.
  • Financial Cents. Solo is for single-user firms; Team and Scale are per user. "All plans are a 12-month agreement." Monthly prices were not shown in the default state. Enterprise is custom.
  • Ignition. Active clients and users set the tier: Solo 20 clients and 1 user, Core 50 and 3, Pro 350 and 15, Pro+ 600 and 20. Solo is limited to solopreneurs under $150k annual revenue. Core, Pro and Pro+ monthly prices were not shown in the default state.
  • Moxie. Teams: up to five team members. The page has a Yearly and Monthly toggle. The capture does not show which one was active, so the prices are shown without a billing term.
  • FileInvite. Priced by loan volume (up to 100 commercial loans a year). The public pricing page now addresses commercial lenders only.
  • OnboardMap. Unlimited team seats; pay per client onboarding sent. Its /pricing URL returns 404, so prices were read from the homepage pricing section. No subscription, so OnboardMap is outside the monthly-price statistics.
  • 17hats. One all-inclusive plan; user limits not stated on the page. Also sold as $800 for two years.

Annual billing is the default view. Nine of 12 pricing pages open on the annual price. Month-to-month billing costs a median 30% more on the entry plan.

How the prices were collected

Every price on this page went through the same five steps:

  1. A script opens each vendor's pricing page in headless Chrome, with a US locale and a New York time zone.
  2. It saves a full-page screenshot and the visible text of the page.
  3. A person reads each plan's price from what the page showed in its default state, and the dataset records it.
  4. A check script confirms that every published price appears next to its plan name in the saved page text.
  5. The capture repeats every week, and a changed price opens a review before anything on this page changes.

The script never logs in, fills a form or gets past a bot check. When a page blocks it, the row says so. TaxDome blocked automated visits in October 2026, so Vlad Kuzin captures it by hand. Until then its row shows the last dated reading and stays out of the statistics.

A real price change gets a dated line in the change log, and only then does the page date move. Our own product is listed for reference and left out of every statistic.

How to cite this index

Use the sentence in the box at the top of this page: it carries the figure, the source and the month. Link to this page, not to a screenshot, so readers see the current numbers. The full dataset is available as JSON and CSV under CC BY 4.0.

Detailed pricing guides

These guides go deeper on one tool each, with add-ons and team math:

Change log

  • October 30, 2026. First edition. 15 competitors captured on October 26, 2026, and OnboardMap on October 30, 2026, because its /pricing URL returns 404. TaxDome is a manual capture showing its last dated price (July 16, 2026), because its page blocks automated visits. Moxo no longer publishes prices.
  • February 4, 2025, before this index. HoneyBook raised monthly prices: Starter $19 to $36, Essentials $39 to $59, Premium $79 to $125. Source: reporting at the time.

Disclosure

I make Portico, a client onboarding tool that competes with most tools in this table. That is a conflict of interest, and the method is the answer to it. Every price links the vendor's own page and a dated screenshot, and our product is left out of the statistics. If you find a wrong number, email support and it will be corrected within 24 hours. Read our editorial policy for how we write about other products.

Frequently Asked Questions

V

Vlad Kuzin

Founder of Portico. Former content systems architect. Obsessed with removing friction from client workflows.

Onboard your next client with one link

Intake forms, documents, e-signatures, and payments in a single guided flow.

Start Free

No credit card required. Cancel anytime.

Related Articles

A row of concrete pillars rising in steps from short to tall under directional light, each taller than the last, casting long shadows
Independent analysis

Client software price hikes, 2020 to 2026

Entry prices for client onboarding and portal tools rose 5 to 10 times since 2020, and per-seat billing multiplies the rest. The 2026 math for a 4-person firm.

•9 min read
A honeycomb-shaped ledger with one cell sealed shut, the rest open and holding invoices
Independent analysis

HoneyBook review - fees and fine print (2026)

HoneyBook rates 4.7/5, but reviews bury the fund holds and the hike that took Starter from $19 to $36 a month. Who should still buy it, and who should not.

•10 min read
A three-tier stone plinth rising in ascending steps, the smallest step sized for a single desk and the widest for a full firm floor, lit from above
Independent analysis

Financial Cents pricing, explained (2026)

Financial Cents runs $19/mo Solo, $49 per user Team, and $69 per user Scale on annual billing. Here is the exact 2026 tier math and where automation sits.

•11 min read